Highland Council area is one of the 32 council areas in Scotland. It has various Highland Towns and Villages as we shall see later in this article. Highland Council area has a population of 234,827 thereby ranked 7th position among the 32 council areas of Scotland. In terms of size, it is the largest council area in Scotland with an area of 25,661 km2 and a population density of 9 people per km2. It is bordered by the following other council areas in Scotland: Argyll & Bute, Perth & Kinross, Aberdeenshire and Moray. Table below gives a brief overview about the Highland Council area.

Council Area Highland
Population 234,827
Population Rank out of 32 7 out of 32
Area Size (km2) 25,661
Area Rank out of 32 1 out of 32
Population Density 9
Location of Highland Towns and Villages

Location of Highland Towns and Villages

The following is a list of Highland Towns and Villages by Population. Data is from the census of 2011

Post items for Sale or Advertise in UK’s best Classifieds Website

1 Nairn 12,048 Town
2 Fort William 10,124 Town
3 Thurso 7,932 Town
4 Dingwall 5,492 Town
5 Alness 5,314 Town
6 Invergordon 4,078 Town
7 Tain 3,978 Town
8 Portree 2,498 Town
9 Aviemore 2,399 Town
10 Grantown-on-Spey 2,241 Town
11 Ullapool 1,547 Town
12 Kingussie 1,417 Town
13 Dornoch 1,204 Town
14 Brora 1,141 Town
15 Mallaig 798 Town
16 Plockton 379 Village
17 Armadale 51 Village
18 Mellon Udrigle 49 Village

ALSO CHECK: Aberdeen City Population Review

ALSO CHECK: Scotland Cities, Towns and Villages by Population