Glasgow city, with an estimated population of 615,365 is a city and one of the 32 council areas within Scotland in the United Kingdom. It is the most populated council area among all the council areas in Scotland. This council area has an area of 176 km2 and a population density of 3,497 people per km2. It is ranked position 26th in terms of area among the Council areas of Scotland. Glasgow City Council area is bordered by the following other Scotland council areas:   West Dunbartonshire, East Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Renfrewshire and Renfrewshire

The table below gives a brief overview about Glasgow City council area.

Council Area Glasgow City
Population 615,365
Population Rank out of 32 1 out of 32
Area Size (km2) 176
Area Rank out of 32 26 out of 32
Population Density 3,497
Location of Glasgow City Council

Location of Glasgow City Council

Glasgow City Council was created under the local government act in the year 1996. The council is governed by Lord Provost of Glasgow, who assumes office after being elected. The incumbent Lord Provost of Glasgow is Eva Bolander.

ALSO CHECK: A review of Edinburgh City Council

ALSO CHECK: Scotland Cities, Towns and Villages by Population